Since everyone is so excited for 0.4 but thinks the devs/beta testers are all dead, I’m going to use this as a blog-ish area to explain how things are going and show some features off.

First of all, the reason why the last pics and developments posted about 0.4 were in March or April was because maxorator had started rewriting all of VC:MP from scratch at that point. The reason for this was that the code base was getting “messed up” and made it hard to add more complex features. The rewrite, as you can tell, took several months, and has only recently gotten to the point of compiling and running.

Secondly, while there’s been some huge progress made in 0.4 as a result, I, personally, can’t recommend that anyone starts scrapping their servers in the hopes that 0.4 is going to be here in a couple of weeks or a month. It might take longer than that, it might not. Besides, there are plans to write Pawn and Squirrel modules that are compatible with R2 scripts.

Lastly, maxorator is going back to university today (time of this post) since he has exams on, if I recall correctly, the 6th. Development might slow down, and since he won’t be able to update his server with my updated gamemodes, you might see less coming from other beta testers. Chances are, I’ll release the gamemode to the other beta testers when it’s finished.

To wrap this up, I’ll leave the same couple of pictures I’d left on the VC:MP forum, though there’s more to come. The reason I’m the only one in them is because I was testing on my home server. The beta testers are still alive on max’s server.

Look at how sexy our chatbox is

Object testing (it's a crane base)